St. John The Baptist Parish News Release

URGENT CALL TO ACTION: Inventory Tax Up for Discussion in Senate Finance Committee

URGENT CALL TO ACTION: Inventory Tax Up for Discussion in Senate Finance Committee

Contact State Senators TODAY

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

The Louisiana Senate Finance Committee will meet on Wednesday, April 22 to discuss Senate Bill 177 which repeals the inventory

tax and the tax credit provided by the state. If the State Legislature approves this bill, St. John the Baptist Parish will lose $22 million annually, which funds the school system, sheriff's office, parish government and fire protection.
In turn, this would force local parishes to increase millage rates on residential and business property to support existing services and to cover existing debt.

Currently, the State of Louisiana provides a tax credit to industry and businesses based on the amount of inventory taxes paid to local governments. The State is now attempting to repeal the inventory tax and tax credit in an effort to reduce the $1.6 billion deficit in the State's budget; however, this proposal is a threat to local government's ability to sustain itself.

Residents are urged to contact members of the Senate Finance Committee and request their opposition to Senate Bill 177/Adley (SB177) at the hearing scheduled for Wednesday, April 22, 2015.

Contact information for Senate Finance Committee members and our State Senators is listed below:

Senate Finance Committee
Last Name First Name Phone Number Email Address
Donahue Jack 985-727-7949  jdonahue@legis.la.gov
Chabert  Norby 985-858-2927 nchabert@legis.la.gov
Allain Bret 337-828-9107 ballain@legis.la.gov
Buffington Sherri 318-687-4820 sbuffington@legis.la.gov
Claitor Dan 225-342-7602 dclaitor@legis.la.gov
Johns Ronnie 337-491-2016 rjohns@legis.la.gov
LaFleur Eric 337-363-5019 elafleur@legis.la.gov
Mills Fred 337-365-8484 fmills@legis.la.gov
Murray Edwin 504-945-0042 emurray@legisl.la.gov
Tarver Gregory 318-227-1499 gtarver@legis.la.gov
White Bodi 225-272-1324 mwhite@legis.la.gov
Long Gerald 318-628-5799 glong@legis.la.gov
Morrish Blade 337-824-3979 dmorrish@legis.la.gov
Thompson Francis 318-878-9408 fthompso@legis.la.gov
Walsworth Mike 318-340-6453 mwalsworth@legis.la.gov
St. John the Baptist Parish Delegation
Smith Gary 225-342-2040 smithgl@legis.la.gov
Brown Troy  225-342-2040 brownte@legis.la.gov

    

   ###

 



  
 


Twitter